LSU Health New Orleans

Departments & Centers | Contact | Donate

Administration Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Centers of Excellence
Graduate     Undergraduate     CME     OMERAD     Learning Center     AHEC        
Administration Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Centers of Excellence

Office of Medical Education
2020 Gravier Street
Suite 602
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: 504-568-4006
Fax: 504-599-1453



Since 2007, more than 100 faculty members have been inducted into the Teaching Academy.  Teaching Academy members include: 2 Proteges, 19 Associates, 44 Fellows, 21 Master Teachers, and 19 Teaching Scholars.  By school, current membership represents the following:  9 in Allied Health Professions, 7 in Dentistry, 56 in Medicine, 7 in Nursing, and 6 in Public Health. While several members are no longer at LSUHSC-NO, we will continue to recognize the contributions they made during their tenure as faculty. 

Back to Top


  • Marie Acierno, M.D.
  • Marie Adorno, Ph.D., APRN
  • Juzar Ali, M.D.
  • Murtuza Ali, M.D.
  • Kelly Alig, M.D. 
  • Jaimie Alleyn, M.D.            
  • Brian Barkemeyer, M.D.
  • Tina Benoit-Clark, M.D., M.B.A., FACP
  • Rodolfo Begue, M.D.
  • Stephen Brierre, M.D.
  • Larry Broussard, Ph.D.
  • Leigh Anne Burns, M.S.
  • Christine Butts, M.D.
  • Marla Cannatella, M.D.
  • Celeste Carter, D.N.S.
  • Rachel Chappel, M.H.S.
  • Mary Coleman, M.D.
  • Erich Conrad, M.D.
  • R. John Cork, Ph.D.
  • Kathleen Crapanzano, M.D.
  • Amy Creel, M.D.
  • Mark DalCorso, M.D.
  • Sylvia Davis, Ph.D.
  • Rachel Dawkins, M.D.
  • Guido DeJesus, M.D.
  • Stephen Deputy, M.D. (Inactive)
  • Bonnie Desselle, M.D.
  • James Diaz, Ph.D.
  • Richard Dicarlo, M.D.
  • Costa Dimitraides, M.D.
  • Latanja Divens, D.N.P.
  • Barbara Doucet, Ph.D.
  • Erin Dugan, Ph.D.
  • Gary Duhon, M.D.
  • Robin English, M.D.
  • Simone Fogarasi, M.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO )
  • Peter Fos, Ph.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO)
  • Suzanne Fournier, D.D.S.
  • Deborah Garbee, Ph.D.
  • Judith Gentry, RN, MSN, OCN, CNE
  • Gloria Giarratano, Ph. D.
  • Carl Giffin, M.D.
  • Paula Gregory, Ph.D.
  • Amparo Gutierrez, M.D.
  • Daniel Harrington, Ph.D.
  • Andrea Hauser, M.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO)
  • George "Jay" Hescock, M.D.
  • Charles Hilton, M.D.
  • Jeffery Hobden, Ph.D.
  • Stacey Holman, M.D.
  • Rodney Hoxsey, M.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO )
  • Chih-yang Hu, Ph.D.
  • Bruce Hurley, M.D.
  • Anthony Jackson, D.D.S.
  • Tonya Jagneaux, M.D.
  • Patsy Jarreau, MHS       
  • Angie Johnson, M.D.
  • Jessica Johnson, Pharm D.
  • Douglas Johnston, Ph.D.
  • Kristopher Kaliebe, M.D.
  • Kathryn Kerdolff, MLIS
  • Beomjune Kim, D. M. D., M. D.
  • Maureen Knapp (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO)  
  • Thomas Lallier, Ph.D.
  • Joseph LaRochelle, Pharm D.
  • Suzanne LeFevre, M.D.
  • Fred Lopez, M.D.
  • Pooja Maney, Ph.D.
  • Jennifer Martin, DNP, CRNA
  • Najy Masri, M.D.
  • Robin McGoey, M.D.
  • Angela McLean, M.D.
  • Donald Mercante, Ph.D.
  • George Miller, M.D.
  • Michelle Moore, Psy D.
  • Kirk Nelson, Ph.D.
  • Staci Olister, M.D.
  • John Paige, M.D.
  • Demetrius Porche, D.N.S., Ph.D.
  • Pinki Prasad, M.D.
  • Humberto Quintana, M.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO)
  • Maria Reinoso, M.D.
  • Dana Rivera, M.D.
  • Malachi Sheahan, M.D.
  • Neil Simonsen, Ph.D.
  • Tammuella Singleton, M.D.(Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO)
  • Chet Smith, D.D.S. (Inactive)
  • Bradley Spieler, M.D.
  • Jane Sumner, Ph.D.
  • Matthew Stark, M.D.
  • Michael Stumpf, M.D.
  • Joy Sturtevant, Ph.D.
  • Jeffrey Surcouf, M.D.
  • William Swartz, Ph.D.
  • Mary Lynne Thames, Ph.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO)
  • James Thompson, Ph.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO )
  • Jeffrey Thompson, P.T., D.P.T.
  • Janice Townsend, D.D.S.
  • Mark Townsend, M.D.
  • Rachel Trommelen, D.P.T.
  • Wayne Vedeckis, Ph.D. (Inactive, no longer at LSUHSC-NO )
  • Maria Velez, M.D.
  • Maria Weimer, M.D.
  • Qingzhao Yu, Ph.D.
  • Michele Zitzmann  (Inactive)               

Back to Top


As a condition of acceptance into the Academy, members commit to active participation in this community of educators and contribution of time and talents to service and leadership in the Academy and to the advancement of excellence and scholarship in teaching and education within the larger LSUHSC community.  The Academy Policy on Active Membership defines these expectations, as they are commensurate with the various categories of membership. 



Implemented in 2012, the Academy Member Interests and Contrubtions form provides a method for individual Academy members to identify areas of interests and availability to contribute service and leadership to the Academy and the larger LSUHSC community of educators.  Academy members are expected to complete and submit the form annually no later than May 15, so adequate planning for the subsequent academic year can be completed.  Questions?  Contact Dr. Sheila Chauvin or any member of the Academy Executive  Council or call 504-568-2140 or email for assistance. 


Academy membership is renewable every five years.  Members should submit a renewal application at the end of thier fourth year and no later than the midpoint of the fifth year in the membership cycle to avoid any lapse in active membership.  Above is a link to a Word version of the Academy membership renewal application template.  The renewal application has been revised and streamlined as of January 2012. Academy members who wish to apply for a different category of membership must use the initial application template found further down on this webpage.  To obtain answers to questions or to request assistance, please call 504-568-2140 or send an email to  Back to Top