## **Copping Teaching Award Nomination Committee**

The charge to the Copping Teaching Award Nomination Committee is to review the faculty nominations for the Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Award, which was established in 1997 and represents the preeminent recognition given to LSUHSC faculty for teaching each year. The committee reviews nominating letters, curriculum vitae, and departmental letters of support (for nominations by students and house officers) and recommends finalists to the Dean, who makes the final decision. Awards are presented annually during the School of Medicine precommencement ceremony.

The committee is comprised of faculty members from basic science and clinical departments, up to 12 residents from clinical departments, and 3 student representatives from each class.