DOM NEWS BLAST

The LSU Department of Medicine Weekly Communication

<u>Dr. Thomas Reske</u> (Geriatrics/Hematology-Oncology) serves on the Geriatric Medicine Board which held its spring meeting in late April. The ABIM Specialty Board was joined by Nancy E. Lundebjerg, MPA, Chief Executive Officer of the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) and included updates on activity at ABIM and allowed for discussion of pressing issues in the field.





The Emergency Medicine residency program recently held their graduation and a number of awards were presented to residents and faculty.

Resident of the year (tie)- Kyle Hoppens MD (PGY 5 EM/IM), Jordan Vaughn MD (EM PGY 4)

- Outstanding junior resident- Sancia Bredy MD (PGY 2 EM)
- Intern of the year- Aaron Singer MD (PGY 1 EM)
- Lauro award- Jordan Vaughn MD (PGY 4 EM)
- Bradley award- Kyle Hoppens MD (PGY 5 EM/IM)

• Clerkship Resident- JP Lona MD (EM PGY 4), Jasmine Thompson MD (EM PGY 3), Christopher Hayden MD (PGY 4 EM/IM)

- Sonostar- Andrew Wong MD (PGY 4 EM)
- Clerkship faculty- Randy Sorge MD
- Off-site clinical faculty- Robert Mercadel MD
- Jeffrey St Clair award- Bruce Hurley MD
- Academic faculty- Randy Sorge MD

• Social EM champion- Apre Dixon-Gleaves MD (PGY 2 EM), Joshua DeBlieux MD (PGY 2 EM), Alex Woodbridge MD (PGY 2 EM)

• Social EM distinction- Lindsey Williams MD (PGY 4 EM), Jordan Vaughn MD (PGY 4 EM), Maria Arulraja MD (PGY 4 EM)